Douglas College wordmark
Facebook logo Twitter logo Instagram logo Snapchat logo YouTube logo Wordpress logo

Faculty

Prepare for college or university with the best. To provide the highest-quality academic English instruction, ELLA instructors hold Masters Degrees and PhDs in second language teaching and learning, including degrees in Teaching English as a Foreign Language, Linguistics, and English as a Second Language Assessment and Curriculum. Our faculty's focus on academic English will bring students the expertise needed to take their English skills to university level.

Department Coordinators

Dilia Hasanova
hasanovad@douglascollege.ca

Karen Reppin
reppink@douglascollege.ca

Sheilagh Badanic
BA (British Columbia) MEd (Lesley College)

604-527-5599
badanics@douglascollege.ca

Heather Barnes
BSocSci (Ottawa) BEd (Memorial) MA (British Columbia) TESL (VCC) TESL Professional Certification Level 3 (TESL Canada)

604-527-5079
barnesh@douglascollege.ca

Laura Blumenthal
BA (Pennsylvania) MA/TEFL (San Francisco State)

604-527-5582
blumenthall@douglascollege.ca

Curriculum Vitae

Laura Cardoso
BA (British Columbia) RSA (London, UK) MA (Toronto)

604-527-5710
cardosol@douglascollege.ca

Stephen Crozier
BA (Toronto) MA (Quebec)

604-527-5383
croziers@douglascollege.ca

Wendie Edwards-Koroscil
TESL (VCC) MA (Trinity Western) MA (Simon Fraser)

604-527-5709
edwardsw@douglascollege.ca

Tina Fusco
BA (Quebec) MA (Concordia University, Montreal) TESL Certification Level 3 (Permanent)

604-777-6028
fuscot@douglascollege.ca

Michael Greenberg
B. Comm (Ryerson, Ontario) C. TESL (University of Toronto, Ontario) MA (York, Ontario)

604-527-6637

greenbergm@douglascollege.ca

Nathan Hall
BA (Taylor University College, Edmonton) MA (Trinity Western); TESL Professional Certification Level Three (Permanent)

604-777-6634
halln1@douglascollege.ca

Dilia Hasanova (ELLA Coordinator and Instructor)
BA (Bukhara State) MA, PhD (Purdue)

604-527-5922
hasanovad@douglascollege.ca

Jacqueline Hebert
LLB (Ottawa) MEd (British Columbia)

604-527-5410
hebertj@douglascollege.ca

David Karkut
BA (Middlebury College, Vermont) MA (British Columbia); TESL Professional Certification Level Three (Permanent)

604-527-5212
karkutd@douglascollege.ca

Chris Maguire
BA (McGill) MA (Ottawa) TESL (Carleton)

604-527-5283
maguirec@douglascollege.ca

Deo Nizonkiza
BA (University of Burundi, Burundi), MA (University of Mons Hainaut, Belgium), PhD (University of Antwerp, Belgium), Postdoc (North West University, South Africa)

604-777-6635
nizonkizad@douglascollege.ca

Janice GT Penner
BRE (Rocky Mountain College) BEd (Alberta) MEd (British Columbia)

604-527-5482
pennerj@douglascollege.ca

Curriculum Vitae

Leda Reaume
BA, Dip In Applied Linguistics (Victoria) MA (Alberta)

604-777-6028
reaumel@douglascollege.ca

Cyndy Reimer
BA (Winnipeg) MA EslEd (Manitoba)

604-527-5826
reimerc@douglascollege.ca

Karen Reppin (ELLA Coordinator and Instructor)
BA, TESL (Toronto) MSc (Aston, UK)

604-527-5408
reppink@douglascollege.ca

Jacquie Russell
BA (British Columbia), TESL Dip (VCC), MEd, Teach. Cert. (New Jersey), MA/TEAL (Alberta)


604-527-6632
jrussel4@douglascollege.ca

Janice Sestan
BA (British Columbia) TESL (VCC) MEd (New England, Australia)

604-527-5676
sestanj@douglascollege.ca

Gordana Sokic
BA (Belgrade, Serbia) MEd TESL (British Columbia)

604-527-5673
sokicg@douglascollege.ca

Michael Victor
BA (British Columbia) TESOL Diploma (VCC) MA (Leicester, UK)

604-777-6114
victorm@douglascollege.ca

Kate Yoshitomi
BMus, BEd (Queen's) MEd (Toronto)

604-527-5489
yoshitomik@douglascollege.ca

Dani Zheleva

MA (Sofia, Bulgaria), DELTA (Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults) (Cambrige University, UK)

604-777-6631
zhelevad@douglascollege.ca

FACULTY EMERITUS

Julia Robinson
BA, MA (British Columbia)
robinsju@douglascollege.ca

Carol St. Jean
BS (Central Connecticut State College) MEd (British Columbia)
ESL Instruction, Program Planning and Development, Barriers to Participation in Adult Learning
stjeanc@douglascollege.ca / castjean@telus.net

Tom Whalley
BA (Sophie, Tokyo) MA, MEd (British Columbia) PhD (Simon Fraser)
Language Education, Intercultural Communication, Faculty Development
whalleyt@douglascollege.ca