Faculty

Prepare for college or university with the best. To provide the highest-quality academic English instruction, ELLA instructors hold Masters Degrees and PhDs in second language teaching and learning, including degrees in Teaching English as a Foreign Language, Linguistics, and English as a Second Language Assessment and Curriculum. Our faculty's focus on academic English will bring students the expertise needed to take their English skills to university level.

Department Coordinators

Dilia Hasanova

Email: hasanovad@douglascollege.ca

 

Karen Reppin

Email: reppink@douglascollege.ca

 

 

Faculty members 

Sheilagh Badanic

BA (British Columbia) MEd (Lesley College)

Phone: 604-527-5599

Email: badanics@douglascollege.ca

 

Heather Barnes

BSocSci (Ottawa) BEd (Memorial) MA (British Columbia) TESL (VCC) TESL Professional Certification Level 3 (TESL Canada)

Phone: 604-527-5079

Email: barnesh@douglascollege.ca

 

Laura Blumenthal

BA (Pennsylvania) MA/TEFL (San Francisco State)

Phone: 604-527-5582

Email: blumenthall@douglascollege.ca

 

Laura Cardoso

BA (British Columbia) RSA (London, UK) MA (Toronto)

Phone: 604-527-5710

Email: cardosol@douglascollege.ca

 

Stephen Crozier

BA (Toronto) MA (Quebec)

Phone: 604-527-5383

Email: croziers@douglascollege.ca

 

Tina Fusco

BA (Quebec) MA (Concordia University, Montreal) TESL Certification Level 3 (Permanent)

Phone: 604-777-6028

Email: fuscot@douglascollege.ca

 

Michael Greenberg

B. Comm (Ryerson, Ontario) C. TESL (University of Toronto, Ontario) MA (York, Ontario)

Phone: 604-527-6637

Email: greenbergm@douglascollege.ca

 

Nathan Hall

BA (Taylor University College, Edmonton) MA (Trinity Western); TESL Professional Certification Level Three (Permanent)

Phone: 604-777-6634

Email: halln1@douglascollege.ca

 

Dilia Hasanova

(ELLA Coordinator and Instructor) BA (Bukhara State) MA, PhD (Purdue)

Phone: 604-527-5922

Email: hasanovad@douglascollege.ca

 

Jacqueline Hebert

LLB (Ottawa) MEd (British Columbia)

Phone: 604-527-5410

Email: hebertj@douglascollege.ca

 

David Karkut

BA (Middlebury College, Vermont) MA (British Columbia); TESL Professional Certification Level Three (Permanent)

Phone: 604-527-5212

Email: karkutd@douglascollege.ca

 

Chris Maguire

BA (McGill) MA (Ottawa) TESL (Carleton)

Phone: 604-527-5283

Email: maguirec@douglascollege.ca

 

Deo Nizonkiza

BA (University of Burundi, Burundi), MA (University of Mons Hainaut, Belgium), PhD (University of Antwerp, Belgium), Postdoc (North West University, South Africa)

Phone: 604-777-6635

Email: nizonkizad@douglascollege.ca

 

Janice GT Penner

BRE (Rocky Mountain College) BEd (Alberta) MEd (British Columbia)

Phone: 604-527-5482

Email: pennerj@douglascollege.ca

 

Leda Reaume

BA, Dip In Applied Linguistics (Victoria) MA (Alberta)

Phone: 604-777-6028

Email: reaumel@douglascollege.ca

 

Cyndy Reimer

BA (Winnipeg) MA EslEd (Manitoba)

Phone: 604-527-5826

Email: reimerc@douglascollege.ca

 

Karen Reppin

(ELLA Coordinator and Instructor) BA, TESL (Toronto) MSc (Aston, UK)

Phone: 604-527-5408

Email: reppink@douglascollege.ca

 

Jacquie Russell

BA (British Columbia), TESL Dip (VCC), MEd, Teach. Cert. (New Jersey), MA/TEAL (Alberta)

Phone: 604-527-6632

Email: jrussel4@douglascollege.ca

 

Janice Sestan

BA (British Columbia) TESL (VCC) MEd (New England, Australia)

Phone: 604-527-5676

Email: sestanj@douglascollege.ca

 

Gordana Sokic

BA (Belgrade, Serbia) MEd TESL (British Columbia)

Phone: 604-527-5673

Email: sokicg@douglascollege.ca

 

Michael Victor

BA (British Columbia) TESOL Diploma (VCC) MA (Leicester, UK)

Phone: 604-777-6114

Email: victorm@douglascollege.ca

 

Kate Yoshitomi

BMus, BEd (Queen's) MEd (Toronto)

Phone: 604-527-5489

Email: yoshitomik@douglascollege.ca

 

Dani Zheleva

MA (Sofia, Bulgaria), DELTA (Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults) (Cambrige University, UK)

Phone: 604-777-6631

Email: zhelevad@douglascollege.ca

 

FACULTY EMERITUS

Julia Robinson

BA, MA (British Columbia)

Email:  robinsju@douglascollege.ca

 

Carol St. Jean

BS (Central Connecticut State College) MEd (British Columbia)

ESL Instruction, Program Planning and Development, Barriers to Participation in Adult Learning

Email: stjeanc@douglascollege.ca / castjean@telus.net

Tom Whalley

BA (Sophie, Tokyo) MA, MEd (British Columbia) PhD (Simon Fraser)

Language Education, Intercultural Communication, Faculty Development

Email: whalleyt@douglascollege.ca