Music Faculty

Douglas College's high ratio of faculty to students allows you plenty of one-on-one instruction. Our faculty members are active as performers and clinicians locally, nationally and internationally. They are committed to providing you with a learning experience that is both challenging and supportive.

Regular Faculty

Barrie Barrington

Piano, Class Piano

Email: barringtonb@douglascollege.ca

 

Bob Caldwell

Percussion

Email: caldwellr@douglascollege.ca

 

Andrew Deruchie

Music History, Music Theory

Email: deruchiea@douglascollege.ca

 

Blair Fisher

Music Technology Coordinator

Email: fisherb@douglascollege.ca

 

Eric Hannan

Choral Ensembles, Voice

Email: hannane@douglascollege.ca

 

Joy Ollen

Music Theory, Aural Skills

Email: ollenj@douglascollege.ca

 

Ian Putz

Music Technology

Email: putzi@douglascollege.ca

 

Kayvon Sarfehjooy

Music Technology

Email: sarfehjooyk@douglascollege.ca

 

Heather Harty Scott

Aural Skills, Class Piano

Email: hartyscotth@douglascollege.ca 

 

Doug Smith

Composition, Music Theory, Listening in Context

Email: smithdo@douglascollege.ca

 

John Van Deursen

Music Coordinator, Concert Band, Jazz Band, Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

Email: vandeursenj@douglascollege.ca

 

 

Part-Time/ Contract Faculty

Bajakian, Aram

Contemporary Guitar

 

Baldwin, Adam

Music Technology

 

Beaty, Mark

Electric and Double Bass

 

Dansereau, Sophie

Bassoon

 

Cavadas, Angela

Violin

 

Chernoff, Maera

Oboe, Recorder

 

Fairbairn, Hazel

Music Technology

 

Fedoruk, Brenda

Flute

Fulton, Adam

Music Technology

 

Karrasch, Daniel

Contemporary Guitar 

 

MacDonald, Colin

Saxophone

 

Mangas, Roger

Viola

 

Ramos Gutierrez, Guzmán

Classical Guitar

 

Ramsbottom, Gene

Clarinet

 

Round, Sue

Cello

 

Shier, Robin

Trumpet

 

Stiles, Allen

Piano

 

Townsend, Jill

Jazz Ensemble

 

Wilkins, Miranda Wong

Piano

 

Witvoet, Marguerite

Beginning Choral Ensemble

 

 

 

Faculty Emeritus

Barrington-Foote, Kevin

ARCT (Piano Teacher); BMus; MMus (Musicology) Music History, Music Theory

Email: barringtonk@douglascollege.ca 

 

 

If you have a general question about Douglas College or want information about one of our programs, please contact us.