Music Faculty

Douglas College's high ratio of faculty to students allows you plenty of one-on-one instruction. Our faculty members are active as performers and clinicians locally, nationally and internationally. They are committed to providing you with a learning experience that is both challenging and supportive.

Regular Faculty

Naomi Barrettara

Music History

Email: barrettaran@douglascollege.ca

Barrie Barrington

Piano, Class Piano

Email: barringtonb@douglascollege.ca

Bob Caldwell

Percussion

Email: caldwellr@douglascollege.ca

Igor Efimov

Music Technology Coordinator

Email: efimovi@douglascollege.ca

Eric Hannan

Choral Ensembles, Voice

Email: hannane@douglascollege.ca

Joy Ollen

Music Theory, Aural Skills

Email: ollenj@douglascollege.ca

Jim Palmer

Music Department Coordinator, Music Theory

Email: palmerj@douglascollege.ca

Ian Putz

Music Technology

Email: putzi@douglascollege.ca

Kayvon Sarfehjooy

Music Technology

Email: sarfehjooyk@douglascollege.ca

Heather Harty Scott

Aural Skills, Class Piano

Email: hartyscotth@douglascollege.ca 

Doug Smith

Composition, Music Theory, Listening in Context

Email: smithdo@douglascollege.ca

John Van Deursen

Concert Band, Jazz Band, Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

Email: vandeursenj@douglascollege.ca

 

Part-Time/ Contract Faculty

Beaty, Mark

Electric and Double Bass

Dansereau, Sophie

Bassoon

Cavadas, Angela

Violin

Chernoff, Maera

Oboe, Recorder

 Enns, Ruth

Music History

Fairbairn, Hazel

Music Technology

Fedoruk, Brenda

Flute

Fulton, Adam

Music Technology

Hesketh, Camille

Voice

MacDonald, Colin

Saxophone

Mangas, Roger

Viola

Martone, Dave

Guitar

Ramsbottom, Gene

Clarinet

Round, Sue

Cello

Shier, Robin

Trumpet

Smialek, Eric

Music History

Sochor, Michael

Pop Guitar & Voice

Stiles, Allen

Piano

Townsend, Jill

Jazz Ensemble

Verdejo, Adrian

Classical Guitar

Wilkins, Miranda Wong

Piano

Witvoet, Marguerite

Beginning Choral Ensemble

 

 

Faculty Emeritus

Barrington-Foote, Kevin

ARCT (Piano Teacher); BMus; MMus (Musicology) Music History, Music Theory

Email: barringtonk@douglascollege.ca 

 

 

If you have a general question about Douglas College or want information about one of our programs, please contact us.