Biology Faculty

Faculty

 
Weissy Lee

LEE, Weissy (she/her)

Department Chair

BSc, PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: Biochemistry, Anatomy and Physiology, Medical Microbiology

Research Interests: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5501

Email: leew@douglascollege.ca

 

Jennifer Barker

BARKER, Jennifer

BSc, MSc (University of Toronto), PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology

Research Interests: Comparative Neurobiology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-6029 DL 604 777-6029

Email: barkerj1@douglascollege.ca

 

Jessie Clasen

CLASEN, Jessie (she/her)

BSc (University of North Carolina at Wilmington), MSc (Arizona State), PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, Microbiology

Research Interests: Aquatic Microbial Ecology, Microbiology, Marine Biology, Oceanography

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5600 DL 604 777-6217

Email: clasenj@douglascollege.ca

 

Rey Cruz-Aguado

CRUZ-AGUADO, Rey

BSc, MSc, PhD (University of Havana)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Cell Biochemistry, Comparative Zoology

Research Interests: Neurobiology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5033

Email: cruzr@douglascollege.ca

 

Casper DeVilliers

DE VILLIERS, Casper

Nat Dip (Wits Tech), BSc (Hons), PhD (Rhodes University)

Instructor  Teaching: General Zoology, Invertebrate Zoology, Animal Ecophysiology, Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Microbiology 

Research Interests: General Zoology, Animal Ecophysiology 

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5148

Email: devilliersc@douglascollege.ca

 

Alida Faurie

 

FAURIE, Alida 

BSc (University of Johannesburg), MSc, PhD (University of Natal)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Comparative Zoology, Anatomy and Physiology, Botany

Research Interests: Zoology, Botany

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5225

Email: fauriea@douglascollege.ca

 

 
Luis Gonzalez-Torres

GONZALEZ-TORRES, Luis (he/him)

BSc., MSc., PhD (University of Havana)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology

Research Interests: Ecology and Conservation Biology

Research and publications

Phone: 604 527-5602

Email: gonzaleztorresl@douglascollege.ca 

 

Leon Guppy

GUPPY, Leon J.

BSc (University of British Columbia), MSc, PhD (University of London)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, General Pharmacology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Microbiology

Research Interests: Alcoholism, Drugs of Abuse, Cardiovascular Biology and Pharmacology, Ion Channel Pharmacology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5236

Email: guppyl@douglascollege.ca

 

Todd Harper

HARPER, James Todd

BA, BSc, MSc (St. Francis Xavier), PhD (New Brunswick) 

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Plants & Society, Marine Biology, Evolution

Research Interests: Marine Biology, Molecular Evolution Systematics

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5609

Email: harpert@douglascollege.ca

 

Sarwat Jamil

JAMIL, Sarwat

BSc, MSc (University of Karachi), PhD (University of London)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Study of signal transduction pathways that control Cell Death and Survival

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5602

Email: jamils@douglascollege.ca 

 

Shamsa Jessa

JESSA, Shamsa

BSc (Hons), MSc (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology, Cell Biology, Biochemistry

Phone: DL 604 777-6123

Email: jessas@douglascollege.ca

 

Karuna Karunakaran

KARUNAKARAN, Karuna

BSc (University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka), MSc (University of Trondheim, Norway), PhD (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology

Research Interests: Molecular Microbiology, Cell-mediated immunity, Vaccinology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5839

Email: karunakarank@douglascollege.ca

 

Elinor Matheson

MATHESON, Elinor (she/her)

BA, MSc, PhD (University of Guelph)

Instructor Teaching: Ecology, General Biology, Environmental Science, Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Behavioural Ecology, Ecology, Environmental Science

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5608 DL 604 777-6217

Email: ehughes5@douglascollege.ca

 

Rob McGregor

McGREGOR, Robert (he/him)

BSc (Carleton), MPM, PhD (Simon Fraser University) 

Instructor Chair-Institute of Urban Ecology Teaching: General Biology, Ecology, Environmental Science

Research Interests: Evolutionary Ecology, Insect Ecology, Biological and Integrated Pest Management

Research and publications

Phone:  NW 604 527-5237

Email: mcgregorr@douglascollege.ca

 

Len Millis

MILLIS, Leonard A. 

BSc, MSc (University of Alberta), PhD (McMaster University)

Instructor Teaching: Genetics, General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Genetics

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5282

Email: millisl@douglascollege.ca

 

Terence Morris

MORRIS, Terence

BSc (Hons), RN, Ph.D (University of Leeds, UK)

Instructor Teaching: Pathophysiology, General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Neuroscience, Muscle Physiology

Research and publications

Phone: DL 604 777-6214

Email: morrist@douglascollege.ca

 

Rosemary Oh-McGinnis

OH-MCGINNIS, Rosemary (she/her)

BSc, PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Genetics

Research Interests: Genetics

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5915

Email: ohmcginnisr@douglascollege.ca

 

Maxence Salomon

SALOMON, Maxence

BSc (University of Geneva), MSc (Swiss Tropical Institute), PhD (Simon Fraser University)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Evolution

Research Interests: Evolutionary Biology, Ecology, Behavioural Ecology, Pest Management

Research and publications

Phone: DL 604 777-6217

Email: salomonm@douglascollege.ca

 

Nora Saona

SAONA, Nora

BSc (University of British Columbia), MSc (University of Calgary), PhD (York University)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology

Research Interests: Ecology, Plant Ecology

Research and publications

Phone: DL 604 777-6032

Email: saonan@douglascollege.ca

 

Lynette Sigola

SIGOLA, Lynette (she/her)

BSc (Hons), MBChB (University of Zimbabwe), PhD (University of London)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Immunology

Research Interests: Innate Immunity, Macrophage Immunity, Neurohormonal Regulation of Inflammation

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5233

Email: sigolal@douglascollege.ca

 

Michael Silvergieter

SILVERGIETER, Mike (he/him)

BSc, MSc (Simon Fraser University)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology

Research Interests: Ecology, Behavioural Ecology

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5509

Email: silvergieterm@douglascollege.ca

 

Laura Solteiro

SOLTEIRO, Laura

BSc, MSc (Simon Fraser University)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology

Research Interests: Molecular Biology & Biochemistry, Aging, Development

Phone: DL 604 777-6222

Email: solteirol@douglascollege.ca

 

Liza Sutton

SUTTON, Liza

PhD (University College London, UK)

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Neurodegenerative Diseases

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5602

Email: suttonl@douglascollege.ca

Cheryl Tautorus

TAUTORUS, Cheryl (she/her)

MSc (University of British Columbia), BSc, PhD (University of Saskatchewan), 

Instructor Teaching: Anatomy and Physiology, Microbiology

Research Interests: Food Microbiology

Research and publications

Phone: DL 604 777-6384

Email: tautorusc@douglascollege.ca

 

Ryan Viveiros

VIVEIROS, Ryan

BSc, MSc, PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Genetics, Microbiology

Research Interests: Developmental Biology, Pedagogy

Research and publications

Phone: DL 604 777-6217

Email: viveirosr@douglascollege.ca

 

Shelley Weisser

WEISSER, Shelley (she/her)

BSc, MSc, PhD (University of British Columbia)

Instructor Teaching: General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology

Research Interests: Immunology, Inflammatory Diseases, Cancer Biology, Medical Genetics

Research and publications

Phone: NW 604 527-5915

Email: weissers@douglascollege.ca

 

Laboratory facilitators

 
Amanda Alleemersch

ALLEMEERSCH, Amanda (she/her)

BSc (University of the Fraser Valley)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5218

Email: allemeerscha@douglascollege.ca

Samantha Brulotte

BRULOTTE, Samantha 

BSc, MSc (University of British Columbia)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5605 DL 604 777-6212

Email: palmers@douglascollege.ca

Katelyn Crisp

CRISP, Katelyn

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-6675

Email: crispk@douglascollege.ca

Alina Cuza

CUZA, Alina

MSc (University of Havana)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone:  DL 236 428-4748

Email: cuzapereza@douglascollege.ca

Michelle Davies

DAVIES, Michelle

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Supervisor

Phone: NW 604 527-5219

Email: daviesm@douglascollege.ca

Iain Fraser

FRASER, Iain

BSc, MSc (Hons), University of Canterbury

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5605

Email: fraseri@douglascollege.ca

Edgar Fuller Altamirano

FULLER ALTAMIRANO, Edgar

BSc (Concordia University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone:  NW 604 527-5648

Email: fulleraltamiranoe@douglascollege.ca

Paula Godden

GODDEN, Paula 

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5718

Email: goddenp@douglascollege.ca

Naomi Higo

HIGO, Naomi

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Institute of Urban Ecology Coordinator

Phone: NW 604 527-5648

Email: higon@douglascollege.ca

Emily Hsiao

HSIAO, Emily

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5956

Email: hsiaoe@douglascollege.ca

Jillian Lane

LANE, Jillian (she/her)

BSc (Thompson Rivers University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone:  DL 236 429-4748

Email: lanej3@douglascollege.ca

Monique Jian

JIAN, Monique

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604-527-5698

Email: jianm@douglascollege.ca

Jennifer Kim

KIM, Jennifer I.

BSc (University of British Columbia)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-6675

Email: kimi5@douglascollege.ca

Alysha Martins

MARTINS, Alysha

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: NW 604 527-5605

Email: martinsa1@douglascollege.ca

Amy Riding

RIDING, Amy (she/her)

Laboratory Technician

Phone:  NW 604 527-6675

Email: ridinga@douglascollege.ca

Bianca Rizzo

RIZZO, Bianca

BSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Technician

Phone: NW 604 527-5468

Email: rizzob@douglascollege.ca

Nora Saona

SAONA, Nora

BSc (University of British Columbia), MSc (University of Calgary), PhD (York University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: DL 604-777-6032

Email: saonan@douglascollege.ca

Michael Silvergieter

SILVERGIETER, Mike

BSc, MSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone:  NW 604 527-5509

Email: silvergieterm@douglascollege.ca

Laura Solteiro

SOLTEIRO, Laura

BSc, MSc (Simon Fraser University)

Laboratory Facilitator

Phone: DL 604 777-6222

Email: solteirol@douglascollege.ca