Facebook logo
Facebook logo Twitter logo Instagram logo Snapchat logo YouTube logo Wordpress logo

Honorary Fellows

Douglas College awards an Honorary Fellow designation to recognize outstanding achievement or distinguished service by an individual on a community, provincial, national, or international scale. Honorary Fellows serve to inspire graduates and reflect the values of the College. One or more Honorary Fellow designations may be conferred at the February and June convocation ceremonies.

2018 (Summer) – Sandy and Cathy Burpee

Sandy and Cathy Burpee

The homeless and housing advocates' numerous achievements include building community support for a permanent shelter for persons without a home in the Tri-Cities in the face of aggressive opposition from surrounding neighbourhoods. Read more

2018 (Winter) – Christopher Gaze

Christopher Gaze

Douglas College is presenting its 2018 Honorary Fellow award to Bard on the Beach founder Christopher Gaze. Read more

2016 (Summer) – Chief Dave Jones

Chief David Jones

New Westminster Police Chief Dave Jones received Douglas College’s highest distinction for his tireless work and dedication to keeping the community safe. Read more

2016 (Winter) – Elaine Golds

Elaine Golds

Douglas College presented its 2016 Honorary Fellow Award to environmental conservationist Dr. Elaine Golds. Read more

2015 – Wally Oppal

Wally Oppal

For Wally Oppal, one of the most challenging roles of his career involved overseeing the provincial Missing Women Commission of Inquiry. Read more

2014 – Julio Montaner

Julio Mantaner

Douglas College is today awarding its highest distinction, honorary fellowship, to Dr. Julio Montaner, a renowned researcher and pioneer in the fight against HIV and AIDS.

2013 – Peter Legge

Peter Legge

Douglas College will award business and community leader Peter Legge with the College’s highest distinction today.

2012 – David Neima

David Neima

A New Westminster eye doctor who has provided free surgery and eyeglasses for thousands of needy people around the world has been selected as the recipient of Douglas College’s highest distinction.

2011 – Bill Hughes and Tim Agg

Bill Hughes Tim AggRadio legend Bill Hughes and youth justice leader Tim Agg have been selected as the first-ever recipients of Douglas College's highest honour. 

Related links

Honorary Fellow policy (pdf)