Criminology

Modern society is fascinated with crime. It is everywhere, from the evening news, to the bestseller list, to prime-time television. But despite this fascination, few people have the knowledge and expertise to really understand the implications of crime and how to handle it within our society.

Blackboard Communication Centre

Current students please see the Criminology Blackboard Communication Centre for course information, program information, professional development, events, volunteer/job opportunities, electronic copies of the Criminology Student Handbook, checklists, application forms, etc.

Competitive Skills

The Criminology program at Douglas College will help you gain the skills needed for a satisfying career in the fields of criminal justice, policing, law, psychology as well as many other fulfilling career paths.

Best Instructors

You'll learn with instructors who have experience on the front lines as lawyers, youth workers, police officers, policy makers and psychologists. They are passionate about issues such as Aboriginal justice, gambling and child abuse. Most of all they are compassionate professionals dedicated to helping you learn about the criminal mind, and the intricate system society has designed to deal with criminal behaviour.

Student Success Story

Future lawyer to represent underrepresented populations in northern Canada

Success Story Katelyn Lohr

Read More


Criminology student fascinated by what makes people tick.

Student Success Story Brittany Fox

Read More

Want More Information?

For information about admission requirements, courses, intake dates and more, visit the Program and Course Catalogue. 
Read More
Departmental Contacts

Program Advisor and General Enquiries: Patti Roos, crimcoordinator@douglascollege.ca

Chair of Criminology: John Cater, caterj@douglascollege.ca

Coordinator of the BA-Applied Criminology Programs: Lorree Bogden, bogdenl@douglascollege.ca

Coordinator of the Criminology Practicum Program: Dr. Andrew Reid, reida3@douglascollege.ca

Co-Coordinators of the Youth Justice Worker Diploma: Tara Chang, changt@douglascollege.ca and Meaghan Dougherty, doughertym@douglascollege.ca

Coordinator of Criminology/Legal Studies: Dr. Caroline Greaves, greavesc@douglascollege.ca

Coordinator of Legal Studies: Graeme Bowbrick, bowbrickg@douglascollege.ca