Facebook logo
Facebook logo Twitter logo Instagram logo Snapchat logo YouTube logo Wordpress logo

Douglas College names Dr. Elaine Golds as 2016 Honorary Fellow

Douglas College presented its 2016 Honorary Fellow Award to environmental conservationist Dr. Elaine Golds today. The Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction the College can bestow.

Dr. Elaine Golds was selected for being a tireless advocate for environmental conservation in the Tri-Cities and throughout British Columbia. On behalf of Burke Mountain Naturalists, she successfully spearheaded numerous causes, such as protecting Colony Farm Regional Park and Pinecone Burke Provincial Park, and the ending of logging in Metro Vancouver’s old-growth watersheds. She continues to be involved in a number of efforts aimed at protecting the environment.

“Dr. Golds’ commitment to the metro-Vancouver community and environment is something to be admired,” said Dr. Kathy Denton, President of Douglas College. “This type of dedication and passion is what we aspire to instill in our students.”

Born in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Dr. Golds graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Bachelor of Science degree. She obtained her Ph.D in biochemistry from McGill University where she also worked as an Assistant Professor before moving to Port Moody in 1989.

Dr. Golds has also been awarded the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals, the BC Community Achievement Award, the Freedom of the City Award (Port Moody), and the Pacific Salmon Foundation Hungerford Award for Conservation.

“As a volunteer, I am deeply honoured to be receiving this award,” says Dr. Elaine Golds. “I hope it helps to shine a light on the significant contributions that many volunteers make to their communities.”

The Douglas College Honorary Fellow Award recognizes the outstanding achievement or distinguished service by an individual on a community, provincial, national, or international scale.

Dr. Golds joins previous Douglas College Honorary Fellows Wally Oppal (2015), Julio Montaner (2014), Peter Legge (2013), David Neima (2012), and Bill Hughes and Tim Agg (2011).



Regan Lal

Manager, Communications